An Essay Done in Tweets

(It’s funny how this forced my hand in terms of writing.  140 characters is NOT much to work with.)

 

What’s happening, Twitter?  I don’t know.  A little bit of this, a little bit of that.  Sometimes I wish I could press reset and start over.

If life had a reset button, many of us would take full advantage.  There are many things in life that could outwardly use some rearranging.

I often tell people I wish I had a big red easy button, like in the commercials.  I would press it, and it would make everything better.  

I wouldn’t mind a goodness coupon, something that would negate all the bad experiences in my life. There are many things I could do without.

But what I think people, myself included, don’t normally consider is that experiences, both good and bad, make us into the people we are. 

A single life is made up of bits and pieces of bigger pictures, just like a puzzle. A puzzle can not be solved without all of its pieces.

Each piece of a puzzle is different; no one piece is exactly like any other. Humans are a never-ending mystery that’s being pieced together.

We are more than our experience; we are more than our decisions; we are more than our past.  We are always changing, forming new pieces. 

This is what it means to be human, what it means to be truly alive.  We have to take the good with the bad if we ever want to move forward.

Being whole means accepting all the things that happen in life, both good and bad, and realizing that we can still control our own choices.

This doesn’t mean that we forgive.  This means that we learn and move on, shaping life to our will and nobody else’s.  We can always choose.

Leave a Reply

