Anti

Day three-I wonder how long I’ll go with remembering to write every day?  

Today, I wrote a 5,343 word piece that completely steamrolled me.  I mean that literally–this piece totally took me over.  I came home from a meeting, sat down on the couch, and wrote.  Two hours later, I had a piece.  It’s called “Anti.”  I think it will wind up as one of the opening sections of my memoir, someday, once I go back and edit it.  It’s equal parts beautiful and horrifying.  I love it, but I don’t want to; the writing is beautiful, that much I can say.  But the experiences contained within it are most definitely not.

This is part of the memoir writing process.  Exorcising the chaos from within.  There’s a gateway that’s been opened, a wall inside of me that seems to be falling down.  Without all of these bits and pieces, I wouldn’t be who I am today.  Writing them out gives them form and shape, for sure.  But it also shares a story that needs to be heard.  It bends the experiences to my will; it shapes them to be what I want.  

All this to say, I find it amazing how something so beautiful can come from a pile of crap.  In learning how to write, how to REALLY write, I have NEVER felt so alive.  This is what it’s all about.

One thought on “Anti

  1. Darcy says:

    You are truly finding the meaning of life – pursuing what you truly love to do that serves others and helps them access that deep spark of meaning and connection in this world. Do you know how awesome and rare that is? 😀

Leave a Reply

